It’s Funny How So Close Can Seem So Far

This weekend I was listening to J. Cole’s newly released mixtape “Friday Night Lights”…something I’ve been waiting for for what seemed like months. It took me several hours to get past the first two tracks. Not because I was bored with it, but because I connected so much with the intro and first full length track.

J. Cole, is from Fayetteville, North Carolina. He’s also a Magna Cum Laude Graduate of St. John’s University with a degree in Communications. Evidence of those facts can be heard in his lyrics. Smart, but real enough to connect with a guy from the streets.

People have asked what’s the hype about him. Personally, I have found that I relate to him lyrically more than any other rapper that is presently recording.

One of the reasons I got stuck on tracks 1 & 2 was this line:

“It’s funny how so close can seem so far”

When I was in school, I was sold a dream. I talked about this before. I just knew I would come out of school with a job…a great salary, and living the early 20’s single life in some city that wasn’t Houston. But then reality set in…I still don’t have a full time job…or the salary that comes with it, I’m still in Houston, and living with my parents. I’m not whining. But I’m not complacent or satisfied either.

When I take into account the fact that I have been blessed to have my own business, two successful blogs, a network of people that have pledged their help to me…I have realized that my dreams are way closer to being real than I can see on a daily basis. Seeing life with the physical eye will only show you what’s physical…the obstacles in front of you (money, location, education, etc.) but your faithful eyes… the ones that you have to use from time to time to keep yourself from becoming weighed down by circumstance…will show you that the things that you think are holding you back really aren’t, which means you are a lot closer to your dreams and blessings than you think.

Today’s message: Don’t give up. And if you’re young like me, remember that you’re young. Sometimes we get so caught up in everyone else’s expectations of us that we start to doubt what we can do. J. Cole has a line for that too.

“If they don’t know your dreams, then they can’t shoot ’em down”

Keep shining, you’re closer than you think.

 

GET J. COLE’S FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS HERE

One thought on “It’s Funny How So Close Can Seem So Far”

  1. I totally agree with this sentiment. Sometimes it does get discouraging and you have to remember to change your definition of “success.” I am also a budding young entrepreneur who is learning to make my own way…instead of waiting for somebody else to do it.

What Do You Think...?

