Am I The Only One Who Still Wants To Get Married?

I want to get married.

There is no question about it. I am the girl who knows what songs she wants to be played at her wedding. I am the girl who has already picked her bridesmaids. I am the girl who watches wedding shows on TLC and cried while watching LaLa’s wedding on VH1. (I know, it’s sad, really. lol) I am the girl that believes firmly that God created me to be some man’s helper, partner, lover and child bearer. I want to spend my life learning and growing with one person. So I am 100% pro-marriage.

Apparently…not very many people tend to agree with me.

Today a study conducted by the Pew Research Center in conjunction with Time Magazine revealed that 4 in 10 Americans believe that marriage is obsolete. While this is sad, it’s not quite surprising.

Today, we don’t value or respect the institution of marriage. In decades past, people felt the need to get married to do things like: have sex, have children, live together, etc. Today…a marriage license is not a pre-requisite for any of these things, at least not in our culture. The divorce rate is higher than it’s ever been before…and in my opinion, its because people don’t take their vows seriously. A lot of people get caught up in the glamorous idea of a wedding, and forget about the lifetime commitment that is a marriage.

So, why do I think marriage is important? I’m of the opinion that a strong family unit is paramount. While I know many awesome and productive people who were raised in single parent homes…I know the benefit of growing up in a home where both parents are present. Children aside, I don’t think that you can place value on a lifetime partnership with someone whom you regard as a friend, and confidant. Am I a romantic, yes. Do I realize that marriage is not all sunshine and rainbows? Yes. But I am of the opinion that the positive out weighs the negative…

The poll is a sign of the times, though. Tell me what you think. You can read the Time article & poll below.

5 thoughts on “Am I The Only One Who Still Wants To Get Married?”

  1. Man, this is pretty efficient, my name and everything is still in the contact form. But anyway,

    I’m definitely with you. I am a wedding planner (i just got certified but i’ve been doing weddings with my mom’s business since I was 11) and I could not fathom at all why people don’t want to get married, and why 4 out of 10 people don’t understand the concept of marriage. I had my wedding dress planned since I was like 6, my wedding songs picked out that somehow keep growing from 2 to now a womping 6. I know when I want to get married, the favors, flowers, and the men’s tuxes along with the colors and cuts of my bridesmaid dresses.

    This whole blurb on point,
    “Today, we don’t value or respect the institution of marriage. In decades past, people felt the need to get married to do things like: have sex, have children, live together, etc. Today…a marriage license is not a pre-requisite for any of these things, at least not in our culture. The divorce rate is higher than it’s ever been before…and in my opinion, its because people don’t take their vows seriously. A lot of people get caught up in the glamorous idea of a wedding, and forget about the lifetime commitment that is a marriage.”

  2. The Times article made me so sad. I think it’s sad that people don’t value marriage. People would rather have non-legally binding, non-protected relationships that can be entered into and gotten out of easily. Although it’s just as easy to get out of marriage these days. I wish people choosing not to marry was a sign they took it seriously and were waiting for the right person or time, but it’s that they will settle for less if they can still have their freedom. No one wants to commit to anything anymore.

    I don’t have any wedding particulars picked out for myself, but I know I want to be married and have a life partner, not just a live in boyfriend or “baby daddy.”

    Bring back the traditional mentality! 😀

  3. I don’t think you are.. I know I definitely would love to get married to someone who is sent to me. Great post. I wrote about something similar to this but it was about dating.

  4. I am so happy to be getting married! It’s a shame how our culture has completely devalued this cherished institution. Now it’s all about the money to be made by the planners, venues, caterers, designers and printers more than the love shared between two people that creates an entire generation and connects souls through the eyes of God. I can’t say as a new bride to be I’m not caught up in the glitz and glam, but I do have to check myself every now and again to remember this wedding, this title, this ring, is about so so much more.

    Good post

What Do You Think...?

