Let’s Play The Blame Game

This week, Kanye West released his latest album “My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.” While I’ve had the album in my iTunes for a couple weeks, I hadn’t really listened to the lyrics on the tracks until a couple of nights ago. On one of my favorite songs of the album “Blame Game”, Kanye laments over an ex who was unfaithful. Frequently flip-flopping between pain and and all out fury, what Kanye never seems to do in the entire 8 minutes of the song is acknowledge his role in the issue.

There’s a reason for everything. Nothing ever happens “just because.” We may not see or understand it immediately, but there is always a purpose, or cause for everything that transpires. How easy is it to toss the blame on someone else, and forget that we all have a role to play in our own happiness, anger, and sadness? Very easy, but the easy way isn’t always the best way. Especially not in this situation.

Here’s another example. I was talking to a group of people about the most recent season of Dancing With The Stars, right after singer Brandy Norwood was kicked off of the show last week. I was going on and on about all the travesties, the Tea Party conspiracies and lack of dancing talent, when I was asked if I voted. I had to hang my head in shame. I never voted, but I was upset at the outcome of the results. Does this sound familiar to anyone else?

There is an inherent responsibility that we all carry when it comes to the facets of our life. It’s way too easy to off-put all of our issues on someone or something else instead of taking a moment to really evaluate all of the forces that come together to create our undesirable situation. Add this to the list of things we all need to work on…I really wrote this as a reminder to myself.

We all have the power to take control of one person, and that is ourselves. Acknowledging the areas where we fall short and make mistakes is just one step in the process of becoming great, and just growing in general. None of us are perfect or without fault, and the sooner we learn that, the sooner we’ll be able to tap into our happiness more frequently. So, instead of playing the blame game…lets just solve our issues. Easier said than done, right? I know. It’s a process.

 

 

Editorial Note: I’d like to thank everyone who showed so much love to Monday’s post “I Would Like To Be Famous… On Purpose.” I was so overwhelmed yesterday by the response, that I didn’t even get to write my daily post!

Making it to WordPress’ Freshly Pressed is a huge honor, because there are thousands of extremely talented bloggers that could have received that title instead of me. Thank you for all of the comments, and to my new subscribers thank you for joining me on this journey. I hope to provide you awesome content that makes you think, makes you smile, and ultimately makes us all better. Lets grow together! Thank you thank you thank you!

Andrea

4 thoughts on “Let’s Play The Blame Game”

  1. Hi

    I have been waiting for this album for ages, and now it is out, I still haven’t listened to it. I will get around to it this week. I guess this just proves that when you are famous, you still have the same issues as all the normal people. Kanye has just used his album to vent. It is easy to blame others for problems in relationships and in life, but it takes a bigger person to admit when they have made mistakes and to acknowledge their faults. Nice post xoxo

  2. I enjoyed reading this because this is an issue I’ve been thinking about a lot lately in my life. I tend to try to blame other circumstances, other people for all the issues that arise throguhout my day (whether it’s as simple as Bristol Palin making it to the Top 3 on DWTS or more serious issues regarding graduate school)and constantly have to check myself to make sure I’m actually absolved of some of that blame.

What Do You Think...?

