Maybe I Was Born In The Wrong Generation?

I am the definition of an old soul. It’s something I have come to accept, and truthfully…I’ve embraced it.

While watching the Soul Train Awards last night, I became SO frustrated with the music my generation has been producing, I sent this Tweet:

I’m inspired by real music…so last night’s tributes to Anita Baker and Ron Isley were a treat for me.

I have classic taste & I’m so “traditional” in so many ways. That’s not to say that I’m not progressive, I just see the value in many of the standards of previous decades. That being said, I’m still in my early 20’s and I’m praying that I have many more years ahead in this journey we call life.

The difference in music is like the tip of the generational split iceberg. There are many more issues lurking below the surface. Today’s question: is there a way for us to learn from previous generations while still embracing the advancements that make us unique?

I’ve found that older people have a tendency to look down on younger people, and complain about decisions made instead of teaching guiding and doing something to improve the situation.

The same goes for the younger generation. Instead of trying to learn as much as possible from those who have wisdom garnered through age…younger people instead choose to disrespect or discount the legacy of those who have come before us.

I think one of the keys to improving our culture is learning from each other, across race, sex, and age differences. If we could just do a little bit more of that…maybe I wouldn’t be so frustrated when I turn on the radio, and maybe kids would get the opportunity to experience the wealth of wisdom that their parents and grandparents have to offer.

What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Maybe I Was Born In The Wrong Generation?”

  1. Like your questions in this post. I watched part of the Soul Train awards (taped the rest since it conflicted with The Walking Dead) and felt some of the same. I also watched part of a documentary on the Soul Train TV show yesterday that was enlightening. I typically tape all award shows now because the banter of the artists is so stupid/vapid/unenlightened and the performances are lacking. I yearn for a throwback to the time when folks actually could sing. Not even sing fantastic like Whitney, Aretha or Patti, but just sing a note on key or in harmony. The Soul Train documentary was interesting because it showed the growing pains Don C. had as the music changed from the soul/funk he started with to disco to rap/hip-hop to the 90s new jack swing. He fought rap hard.

    To some of your questions, I think older generations will always look down upon the newbie stuff. Part of this is because it represents progress and change. The other part is because some of it just sucks. And unfortunately the record industry has taken too much liberty with auto tune and other technology advances and made our current crop of artists (save a few) suck.

  2. I’m so disappointed in where we are sometimes. It’s like nothing ever happened before now. I think a major part of it is that the role models of today (or people in positions to influence young people, I should say) are teens and young adults themselves. They haven’t matured to the point of being able to impart much wisdom. I think that the disconnect between older generations and younger generations needs to be healed to advance our culture.

    I love talking to older people, and I find they are eager to share their experiences and views. The problem is they usually don’t like change or get upset when you don’t follow their advice. Young people have to seek their advice and wisdom, and older people have to give it without so much attachment. Advice is just suggestions and we still have to be free to choose whether we want to use it or not.

    I embrace anything that speaks to me. If it has a message, a point, something to say other than sex, drugs, partying or conspicuous consumption, I’ll put it on my iPod. I searach out the old and the new. I think you strike a balance when you incorporate what works for you–no matter where it comes from. Great post!

What Do You Think...?

