Who Are You Getting Your Advice From?

Yesterday I got the January issue of Essence Magazine in the mail. For those of you who don’t know me that well yet, I am a huge fan of the magazine, and I’m hoping that one day soon, I’ll be able to contribute my writing to it’s famed pages.

Back to the subject at hand. The cover subject this month is  Steve Harvey. Now before I go any further, I should note that I am NOT a hater, I’m just sharing my opinions.

I’m all for being enterprising and following your calling but I have yet to understand why so many people have bought into Steve’s “Act Like A Lady Think Like A Man” theory. Let me tell you why!

Apart from the fact that Steve Harvey, on marriage number three, is not my definition of a relationship expert, the content of his best-selling book “Act Like A Lady think Like A Man” is slightly basic. But since so many people are so desperate to find LOVE, (believing the statistics that are set in front of us by mainstream media)… Steve Harvey has been given the green light on a new book, on the same topic, called “Straight Talk, No Chaser”

Honestly, if you’ve read the first book and have any type of common sense, you know that it was more comedy than true help. That brings me to to my point. Who’s advice are you taking? Honestly, when you really think about many of the situations you find yourself in, you already have the knowledge to answer the questions that you face.

I said it yesterday, and I’ll say it again. The only way for us to become successful in relationships of any kind, is to communicate! If you have questions about a man…maybe, just maybe, you should ask a man. Now… again. I have nothing against Mr. Harvey. He’s doing a lot for the community, and is truly becoming a role model for young men in entertainment. But the information he’s sharing…you should already know. Don’t dumb yourself down and take anything just because someone famous said it…you’re better than that.

If you’re looking for a good relationship book… check out Hill Harper’s The Conversation. Hill’s basis for the book is the importance of opening the lines of communication between men and women. You’ll enjoy it.

6 thoughts on “Who Are You Getting Your Advice From?”

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more on this subject. I thought I stood alone on my opinions on this. Andrea I have no doubt in my mind you that you will be a future contributor of Essence magazine. Keep up the GREAT work!!

  2. I couldn’t have said it better myself. I appreciate what Mr. Harvey is trying to do, but I find it hard to take relationship advice from someone who is on their third marriage. Awesome work Andrea!

  3. I think many people see him as an expert because he’s failed and learned from his mistakes, but I wouldn’t take him that seriously. I’m surprised he’s writing a second book.

  4. I was really surprised his first book did so well but what do I know. That said, I totally agree with you about relationships and taking advice from others. I think it’s okay to listen sometimes but ultimately, only you can decide how to handle a situation. Every relationship is different and so the advice from someone, be it Steve Harvey or your best friend, may not always be fitting for every situation.

  5. MY DEAR ANDREA,

    YOU WENT INTO MY MIND AND COPY AND PASTED MY THOUGHTS INTO THIS BLOG!

    My fellow Pretty Brown Girl, you kept this real civil and I appreciate it, cause Steave Harvey, really?!! Umm, I think I’ll pass that selection on my relationship menu..

    I could go on and on, but like you, i will remain civil on the topic and say this much..

    THANKS FOR POSTING!!

    Keep up the awesome.com work DIVA (Divine Woman)!

What Do You Think...?

