winter 2014 book list

Andrea’s Book List: Winter Reads

Since I was young, I’ve always had a passion for reading. When you get into a really good book, you can learn, or get lost… maybe both. Reading opens so many doors, and I think it’s a lost art.

Now we’re still in the early stages of a new year. Maybe some of you noted that your goal was to read more. For you, I have a list of winter reads that will help get you started.

BOOKS

1) “Unlabel”Marc Ecko:

This book is about creating a brand from the inside out. One of the things I’ve been working on, is sharing my authentic self. This book was written by Marc Ecko, founder of multiple fashion lines, and the popular Complex Media imprint. If you’re interested in business, this is a good one for you.

2) “We Need New Names” NoViolet Bulawayo:

This book, a fiction, was suggested to me by my good friend Erin. It’s a coming of age story about a girl who moves from Africa to America, and all the growing pains that come with it. ESSENCE magazine selected it as one of the best of 2013, so you should check this one out if you’re looking to get lost in a good story.

3) “Exist No More”Detavio Samuels:

I got the opportunity to interview Detavio Samuels at my other site, Technolochic about this book,  and I’m excited to finish it. This is a book about maximizing your potential and squeezing the most out of this thing called life. If you’re interested in a good motivational book, pick this one.

4) “The Dream Giver”Bruce Wilkinson:

I’ve actually already read “The Dream Giver”, but I decided it would be a good book to pick up again to kick off the year. It’s like a modern parable, telling the story about a “Nobody” who has to fight past a lot of haters naysayers and obstacles to get to his big destination. It interweaves a few Biblical principles, and it’s a good companion if you’re looking to increase your spiritual knowledge and understanding about goals.

5) “Sister Citizen”Melissa Harris Perry:

Melissa Harris Perry is one of the scholars I admire most in the current American landscape. In her book, Sister Citizen, she succinctly breaks down the role that black women have played, are playing and will play in the American political system. If you’re into good stuff that will make you think about the society in which we live, you should definitely pick this one up.

PERIODICALS

winter 2014 book list

Dec/JanFast Company:

Fast Company is my favorite magazine. I read it monthly, get daily updates in my email and clip articles to add them to my inspiration boards. The December/January issue features a really good article on Pharrell Williams, breaking down what makes him so productive, and furthermore, successful. It’s a great read – and if you can’t find a hard copy you can definitely read Pharrell’s feature online, here.

Dec/JanXXL Magazine:

I picked up the December/January issue of XXL for one reason: There’s a three page spread on Karen Civil, one of the rising movers and shakers in media. In the article she talks about rising from being a blogger to being one of the most respected and sought after women for branding and social media work, boasting clients like Young Jeezy, Lil Wayne, Mary J. Blige and more. Not to mention, she’s the Director of Music at Beats By Dre. Her story would be inspiring for anyone seeking to take their blog to new heights.

DecemberThe Hollywood Reporter

Oprah’s on the cover of The Hollywood Reporter’s Women In Power issue. I mean, there’s not much more to really say about it, but if I could give you a number of reasons: There are a bunch of amazing stories about women taking over in Hollywood. Plus Oprah gives a really candid interview about life after her daily talk show, the success and/or failures of OWN and her recent role in The Butler.

If you decide to read any of these, let me know in the comment section. While you’re there, drop me a line and let me know what you’re reading right now! Let’s trade books.

One thought on “Andrea’s Book List: Winter Reads”

  1. Thanks for sharing!! Reading has sadly become a lost art. As a child, I loved to read and I have decided for the new year to pick that old distraction back up and get lost in an array of books! I am currently reading “The Voice of Knowledge” by Don Miguel Ruiz. Next up is “Slave” by Mende Nazer.

What Do You Think...?

